A Deception Most Deadly: An utterly addictive historical cozy murder mystery (Paperback)

A Deception Most Deadly: An utterly addictive historical cozy murder mystery Cover Image
$11.76
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Description


Meet Cassie Gwynne: bookworm, cat lover, reluctant heiress... and determined detective?


Florida, 1883. Cassie Gwynne is looking for a fresh start when she steps off the steamship at Fernandina harbor for the first time. She's trying hard to be a proper lady, for once. She's styled her unruly hair, shined her boots, and even purchased a whole new fashionable (or at least fashionably priced) wardrobe. However, she's certain finding a body is not very ladylike behavior...


While out exploring the beautiful island with her Aunt Flora, Cassie stumbles across the body of Peanut Runkles, town grump and her aunt's neighbor, lying at the foot of the harbor pilots' lookout tower. To make matters worse, because Peanut and Flora have been quarreling for years over everything from Flora's eccentric ideas to her pet pig's fondness for Peanut's vegetable patch, Flora is immediately arrested for murder.


Desperate to save the only family she has left, Cassie vows to prove Flora's innocence and untangle the mystery herself, no matter how much certain others may disapprove. Cassie's brilliant mind and nose for a clue lead her on an investigation that takes her all around the island, and even earns her a valiant furry friend in Esy the kitten.


But how does the mysterious ledger Cassie finds hidden in a secret drawer in Peanut's desk connect to the crime? Cassie is determined to dig up the truth, but can she catch the killer before her time on the island comes to a deadly end?


This warm and witty cozy mystery will transport you to the island city of Fernandina and introduce you to a feisty heroine far before her time Perfect for fans of Verity Bright, T E Kinsey and Deanna Raybourn.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781800196957
ISBN-10: 1800196954
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: January 14th, 2022
Pages: 324
Language: English