The Last Roundhead (Paperback)

The Last Roundhead By Jemahl Evans Cover Image

The Last Roundhead (Paperback)

$12.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

"The research is impeccable and the writing full of verve." Antonia Senior, The Times

1642.

England has been plunged into a Civil War.

Blandford Candy is sent to London, after an illicit affair, and joins the Roundhead army to fight against the King, taking part in the Battle of Edgehill.

A reluctant hero if ever there was one, he becomes a spy for the cause - and, through luck or judgement, uncovers more than one Royalist plot. His love of wine and the fairer sex prove both a curse and a blessing for the agent.Blandford soon earns the enmity of the King's spy mistress Jane Whorwood, and patronage of the great parliamentarian leader John Hampden.

As well as navigating the politics and perils of the Civil War Blandford must also deal with members of his family, who turn out to be to be far more duplicitous and ruthless than any rival agent.

To survive, Blandford must choose a side.

The Last Roundhead is the first book in the acclaimed series of novels, charting the adventures of Sir Blandford Candy during the English Civil War.

Recommended reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Michael Jecks and George MacDonald Fraser's Flashman books.

Praise for Jemahl Evans and the Blandford Candy series.

"Blandford Candy is as endearing a rogue as you are likely to find in any work of literature." Matthew Harffy author of the Bernicia Chronicles.

"The research is impeccable and the writing full of verve." Antonia Senior, The Times.

"It's great fun and a rollicking good read." Historical Novel Society.

"Frankly, glorious." Michael Jecks.

Jemahl Evans is the author of the acclaimed Sir Blandford Candy series of novel. He lives in West Wales.

Product Details ISBN: 9781794168756
ISBN-10: 1794168753
Publisher: Independently Published
Publication Date: January 15th, 2019
Pages: 330
Language: English