Dissection: A Medical & Political Thriller (Paperback)

Dissection: A Medical & Political Thriller By Cristina Leport M. D. Cover Image

Dissection: A Medical & Political Thriller (Paperback)

$17.95


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

This fall, the Hippocratic Oath promise "Do no harm" takes on a whole new meaning in the nail-biting new medical thriller DISSECTION by debut author Cristina LePort, MD (Bancroft Press/ October 20, 2022; $27.95), perfect for fans of Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp novels and Robin Cook's medical thrillers.

In DISSECTION Dr. LePort tells the story of DC heart surgeon Dr. Steven Leeds, who is suddenly besieged by a handful of complicated heart attack and stroke cases, all caused by a rare arterial injury―a dissection. All the victims have first received cards announcing: "Your heart attack/stroke will arrive within one hour " Private detective Kirk Miner and FBI agent Jack Mulville investigate, and they immediately suspect Leeds' former lover, Dr. Silvana Moretti, a brilliant research scientist who harbors a grudge against all the victims.

When prominent people in the U.S. government begin to receive the same threatening cards and almost immediately experience these same deadly cardiac emergencies, it falls to an unlikely team of three―the headstrong FBI agent, the gifted private investigator, and the conflicted heart surgeon―to find the actual perpetrators and foil the catastrophic plot before it's too late.

Says Dr. LePort, "At medical school, I specialized in Internal Medicine, and had been practicing for over 17 years when, one day, while attempting to get into a Cardiology fellowship, I started to listen to Ayn Rand's lectures The Art of Fiction. I was inspired to write a novel and I became addicted to the feeling of entering a world where I could make anything happen."

Dr. Cristina LePort was born in Bologna, Italy. She attended medical school at the University of Bologna and then, despite initially being able to speak only a few words of English, completed her medical training at Long Island College Hospital in Brooklyn and at the University of California, Los Angeles. She is board certified in Internal Medicine and Cardiovascular Diseases and has been practicing medicine for more than thirty years. Cristina is also the Chief Medical Officer and co-founder of Genescient, a biotech company devoted to genetic research on aging and the amelioration of chronic diseases. Medicine and fiction are her twin passions, and she is absolutely thrilled to be able to share her medical thrillers with the world. Cristina LePort currently resides in Orange County, California, with her husband Peter LePort, a general surgeon. They have three children and three grandchildren. Website: https: //www.cristinaleport.com/ Facebook: @cristinaleportauthor Twitter: @LeportCristina
Product Details ISBN: 9781610885584
ISBN-10: 1610885589
Publisher: Bancroft Press
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 364
Language: English