Breathe (Hardcover)

Breathe By Sarah Crossan Cover Image

Breathe (Hardcover)

$17.99


Email or call for price

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

Sarah Crossan is the author of One, which won the Carnegie Medal and The Bookseller's prize for young adult fiction and was named the Irish Children's Book of the Year. It was also named to the White Ravens list, was an Indie Next selection, and earned four starred reviews in the US. In 2018, Sarah Crossan was named Irish Children’s Laureate. Two other novels, The Weight of Water and Apple and Rain, were also shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London, and New York and now lives in Sussex. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. Since completing a master's in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools.


Product Details ISBN: 9780062118691
ISBN-10: 0062118692
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2012
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Breathe

“An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can.” — Kathleen Duey, author of National Book Award finalist Skin Hunger

“This joins the ranks of Roth’s Divergent and Wells’ Partials as a provocative, character-driven, and action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Short cliff-hanger chapters alternate between the three teens’ points of view and build to an ending that will leave fans breathless for the next one.” — ALA Booklist

“Sci-fi fans with an environmental bent will find this book particularly engaging.” — Horn Book Magazine